Welcome to the Me Zone

Let’s Begin:
It’s been a year since I wrote something and I kept pondering on what topic to choose. As I gazed at my keypad and the vast empty screen, I thought of making an attempt to write about myself. It’s tough but here’s a sketch.

Family:
I was born on a lovely wednesday morning on 20th of May to Dr. Atanu Sinha(dad) and Mrs. Asha Singha (Mom). I have a younger brother named Nishant.We are a close knit family. My dad is an opthalmologist, mom is a teacher, and my brother is an entrepreneur. Things that we value are love, trust, and, respect for everyone around us.

We belong to a community known as Bishnupriya Manipuri. A vast majority of the Bishnupriya Manipuris reside in parts of Assam and Tripura in the Northeast of India. They can be found in countries like Bangladesh, Burma and, are now spread across various other places. Some historians believe that Bishnupriya Manipuris were immigrants who came from Dvarka and Hastinapur after the end of the Mahabharata war; thus tracing our origin to Babhruvahan.

Education:
I did my B.A. in Journalism from Baldwins Women’s Methodist College and M.A. in English literature from St.Joseph College. I had completed my higher education in Bangalore.

Proffessional:
I have been into different roles related to writing. I started off my career as a business correspondent. Then I worked as an English language specialist and, later as a content developer. My current role is that of an Instructional designer.

Personal:
I love watching anime. It gives me immense happiness. Some of my favourite shows are Bleach, Kurotshitsuji, Trinity Blood, Kuroko no Basuke, Ao no exorcist, One outs, One piece, Area no Kishi, Haikyuu, Kamisama Hajimemashita, Tokyo Ghoul, Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki Kun, and the list goes on.

I like to listen to good music and prefer bollywood.

I watch movies if my friends suggest that a particular movie is worth watching. I don’t like the horror genre. So I avoid it. Some of my favourite movies are Just like heaven, The Notebook, Moana, and A walk to remember.

I enjoy playing cards, chinese checker, and brainvita, with my friends and family when they’re around.

I am not too fond of pets; be it cats or dogs. I don’t hate them but rather I am scared. I suffer from ophidiophobia.

I don’t mingle with people easily but I have a few good friends with whom I love to hangout whenever I get time and go on short vacations. Here are some of my memorable moments with my friends.

I have a group of fun loving cousins. Whenever we get together we have an awesome time be it an outing or a house party.

I am not a sportsperson as such but I like watching cricket. It’s been a long time since I watched a match.

I am interested in arts & crafts. I do paper quilling when I get time. Here are few of the things that I had made.

I am an amateur but I like to sketch. Here are some of them.

Though I am not an avid writer, I love to write on topics that I find interesting.

I like to read. I grew up reading – The Famous Five, The Secret Seven, Nancy Drew series, Hardy Boys, Amar Chitra Katha and many more. Enid Blyton is still one of my favourite authors. My recent reads include Household Gold, The Currency of the Future, The valley of Adventure, The scion of Ishavaku, and The Japanese wife. My favourite quote is from the poem Second Coming by W.B. Yeats.

“Turning and turning in the widening gyre

The Falcon cannot hear the falconer;

Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold.”

Things that I can’t do without when I go out are my pair of glasses, shades, inhaler, phone, purse, earphones, wet tissues, lipstick, compact, and kajal. A small bottle of water is good to have too.

I am fond of nail polishes and thus love to keep my nails long. I like to apply colours that are bright.

I have always been interested in mythology. During my childhood my grandfather used to narrate stories of Ramayan and Mahabharat.

Though I am not much of a foodie – I love to eat mangoes, coconuts, prawns, custard, icecream, and kheer.

I am allergic to brinjal/ egg plant, dry prawns, crabs, and some yam.

The languages I can communicate in are Bengali, Hindi, English and bits of Bishnupriya Manipuri. So, folks that’s all about me for now.

Categories Personal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close